Attorney Trey Wilson - RL Wilson Law

17 September 2008

Who is Running the TRCC -- An Insider's Guide to Understanding How the Foxes are Guarding the Henhouse

Have you ever wondered who the individuals are that are charged with regulating and overseeing homebuilders in the State of Texas? After all, the State has surely placed highly qualified, unbiased, and consumer-concious individuals at the helm of the agency created for the purpose of "promoting quality construction for Texans by registering industry members and residential construction projects; providing information and educating homeowners and the residential construction industry; acting as a resource for complainants; and offering a neutral, technical review of alleged post-construction defects," Right? You might just be surprised.

By law, the Texas Residential Construction Commission is comprised of nine members appointed by the Governor: four registered builders, three members of the general public, one engineer who practices in the area of residential construction and one either architect or inspector who practices in the area of residential construction. The Commission members serve six-year staggered terms.

Here is a list of the current members:

COMMISSIONER Paulo Flores (Chair) - Dallas, Texas
COMMISSIONER Glenda Mariott (Vice Chair) - College Station, Texas
COMMISSIONER Lewis Brown (Secretary) - Trinity, Texas
COMMISSIONER Art Cuevas - Lubbock, Texas
COMMISSIONER Kenneth Davis, P.E. - Weatherford, Texas
COMMISSIONER Gerardo "Jerry" Garcia - Corpus Christi, Texas
COMMISSIONER John Krugh - Houston, Texas
COMMISSIONER Steven Leipsner - Lakeway, Texas
COMMISSIONER Mickey Redwine - Ben Wheeler, Texas

here are some of their "unofficial" affiliations, which might cause the average Texas consumer a little discontent:

J. Paulo Flores: Chairman. Mr. Flores is a distinguished lawyer with impressive credentials. But...who have his clients have been for the past 20 years? This would be interesting to know.

Glenda Marriott, Vice Chair. She is the Vice-President of Marriott Homes, Inc. This corporation is a Builder, registered with TRCC under builder number 1003. As of the date of this posting, they have registered 172 homes with the TRCC.

Lewis Brown, Commissioner. Mr. Brown is an inspector and the proprietor of Brown's Inspection Service, LLC. he was once a prominent member of the Greater Houston Builders Association. Note who GHBA is, and who its members are.

Art Cuevas, Commissioner. he is a Builder and the president of Art Cuevas Construction -- TRCC registered builder 1001, with 51 homes registered as of today.

Jerry Garcia, Commissioner. He is President of Hacienda Construction, Inc. This coporation has TRCC registration number 2444, with 10 homes registered. As past president of the Corpus Christi Builders Association, a Life Director for the Texas Association of Builders and a Director for the National Association of Homebuilders, Mr. Garcia is hardly a consumer advocate.

John Krugh, Commissioner. Senior Vice President and Corporate Counsel for Perry Homes. Perry Homes is among the largest builders in the nation. Perry is registered under TRCC number 1040, and has 12559 homes registered with TRCC.

Steven Leipsner, Commissioner. Former Executive Vice President of the Marriott Corporation.

Mickey Redwine, Commissioner. President of Dynamic Cable Construction Company, L.P.

Trey Wilson is a construction, real estate, evictions and water lawyer in San Antonio Texas. He routinely represents homeowners in claims for defective construction and residential project abandonment. he may be reached at or 210/223-4100

Trey Wilson --Named By Scene in SA Magazine As One of San Antonio's Best Real Estate Litigation Attorneys -- September 2008 -- As voted on by peers